Me me, you you / mir mir, dir dir

Deutsch

2014 I’ve been far away from home travelling to Bali. The last days we were at the beach sitting in the shaddow of a tree. A guy who selled donuts sat down next to us to have a break. He recognized us talking in German and started to talk with us. He told us (partly in German) he has worked in Germany and showed us a foto from this time.

He told us you can cook your meals like home and you can cope with the missing sun but he missed social life. And he said something what really touched me because its true. He said here in Bali on the beach we are talking to each other but in Germany we would pass without so much as looking at each other. He said in Germany its like me is me and you are you. I was sad and ashamed because I knew he was right. And I swore to myself to be more kind to other people when I’m back in Germany. Maybe he earned more money in Germany but in Bali he seemed to be happy selling donuts on the beach, having the sun above his head and chatting with strangers.


2014 war ich weit weg von zu Hause und reiste nach Bali. In den letzten Tagen saßen wir am Strand im Schatten eines Baumes. Ein Mann, der Donuts verkaufte, setzte sich in unsere Nähe, um eine Pause zu machen. Als er merkte, dass wir Deutsch reden, fing er an, mit uns zu reden. Er erzählte (teils auf Deutsch), dass er in Deutschland gearbeitet hat und zeigte uns ein Foto von sich aus dieser Zeit.

Er sagte, man kann kochen wir zu Hause und erträgt auch weniger Sonnenstunden, aber er vermisste die sozialen Kontakte, das soziale Leben. Und er sagte etwas, das mich wirklich berührte, weil es so wahr ist. Er sagte, hier auf Bali am Strand reden wir miteinander, aber in Deutschland würden wir uns nicht einmal ansehen. Er sagte, in Deutschland ist „mir mir und dir dir“, jeder ist für sich. Es machte mich traurig und ich schämte mich, weil ich wusste, dass er recht hat. Und ich nahm mir fest vor, zurück in Deutschland freundlicher zu meinen Mitmenschen zu sein. Vielleicht hat er in Deutschland mehr Geld verdient, aber auf Bali wirkte er glücklich, mit seinem Donutbauchladen, der Sonne und Smalltalk mit Fremden.

2 Gedanken zu “Me me, you you / mir mir, dir dir

  1. Good story! But I have another opinion. Sometimes we Germans think, we are not open to others. And I think this is simply not true. Why do have Germans always a bad opinion about themselves?
    This guy was missing the sun? In what part of Germany did he live and at what time? I would agree, if he was talking about northern part of Norway in Winter time :-).

    The more problem I see in Smartphones. Mothers sitting on benches not watching what their kids are doing instead of writing WhatsApp & Co. This is a bad development overall the world, where Smartphones are quit common in public. Yes, in China they have dedicated areas on foot path for Smartphone users, so that they don’t harm the others walking without watching.

    Yes, we forget to realize our environment. This is my biggest sorrow. Maybe it’s getting better with Google Glass, haha….just kidding.

    Gefällt 2 Personen

  2. Hat dies auf kinderlieb rebloggt und kommentierte:
    Das selbe Thema hatte ich auch gerade in meinem Kopf. Ich sehe das auch so, dass die Menschen sehr Kontaktscheu sind aber eidabinich hat auf jeden Fall auch recht und auch ist mir durch den Kopf gegangen.

    Das ist ein Fetzen aus einer Diskussion zu dem Thema : „Sozialer Kontakt zu Menschen gilt ja fast schon als verpönt. Bald ist es nur noch möglich über Handy und PC kontakt zu haben und wenn du dich persönlich mit jemanden verabredest werden alle die Nase rümpfen.“

    Gefällt mir

Kommentar verfassen

